Olympic Golf Big Names Struggle in First Round in Japan

John Rahm, the champion of the US Open, has had a very busy few days. On Sunday, he became the first player of Spanish ancestry to win the US Open.

A total of sixty male golfers have been selected to compete in the Olympic tournament that will kick off on Thursday, July 29 in Tokyo. The list of participants was released today (Tuesday, June 22).

Olympic Golf Big Names Struggle in First Round in Japan

Olympic Golf Big Names Struggle in First Round in Japan

Among the list are 2018 Ryder Cup winners for Europe, Brits Paul Casey and Tommy Fleetwood, as well as Irishman Rory McIlroy, big-hitting American Bryson DeChambeau, and Japan’s record-setting Masters winner, MATSUYAMA Hideki.

After Sunday’s US Open concluded, players were selected according on their positions in the Official World Golf Ranking. After next week’s Women’s PGA Championship, the Rolex Rankings will be used to determine the women’s field.

Names like Spain’s Sergio Garcia, America’s Dustin Johnson, Australia’s Adam Scott, and Germany’s Martin Kaymer have all withdrawn from competition and hence will not be competing at the Tokyo Olympics.

Anirban Lahiri of India, who is ranked 340th in the world, reached the cut despite the fact that no country can qualify more than four players (and no more than two if they are ranked outside the top 15).

Olympic Men’s Golf Field:

Jon Rahm (ESP)
Justin Thomas (USA)
Collin Morikawa (USA)
Xander Schauffele (USA)
Bryson DeChambeau (USA)
Rory McIlroy (IRL)
Viktor Hovland (NOR)
Hideki Matsuyama (JPN)
Paul Casey (GBR)
Abraham Ancer (MEX)
Sungjae Im (KOR)
Cameron Smith (AUS)
Joaquin Niemann (CHI)
Tommy Fleetwood (GBR)
Corey Conners (CAN)
Victor Perez (FRA)
Garrick Higgo (RSA)
Shane Lowry (IRL)
Marc Leishman (AUS)
Christiaan Bezuidenhout (RSA)
Siwoo Kim (KOR)
Carlos Ortiz (MEX)
Mackenzie Hughes (CAN)
Sebastian Munoz (COL)
Guido Migliozzi (ITA)
Emiliano Grillo (ARG)
Rikuya Hoshino (JPN)
Antoine Rozner (FRA)
Thomas Detry (BEL)
Alex Noren (SWE)
Thomas Pieters (BEL)
Kalle Samooja (FIN)
Matthias Schwab (AUT)
Rasmus Hojgaard (DEN)
Sami Valimaki (FIN)
Jazz Janewattananond (THA)
Jhonattan Vegas (VEN)
Francesco Molinari (ITA)
Henrik Norlander (SWE)
Rafa Cabrera Bello (ESP)
Guillermo Mito Pereira (CHI)
Joachim Hansen (DEN)
Rory Sabbatini (SVK)
Sepp Straka (AUT)
Ryan Fox (NZL)
CT Pan (TPE)
Adrian Meronk (POL)
Maximilian Kieffer (GER)
Juvic Pagunsan (PHI)
Ondrej Lieser (CZE)
Scott Vincent (ZIM)
Gunn Charoenkul (THA)
Hurly Long (GER)
Fabrizio Zanotti (PAR)
Rafael Campos (PUR)
Gavin Green (MAS)
Carl Yuan (CHN)
Kristian Krogh Johannessen (NOR)
Wu Ashun (CHN)
Anirban Lahiri (IND)