How Many Euros have England Won

The crowds chanted “It’s coming home” as England faced Italy in the Euro 2020 final on Sunday night. Can you name a time when England triumphed at the European Championship and brought home the hardware?

How Many Euros have England Won

Since its inception in 1960, the UEFA European Championship has been one of the most prestigious international football competitions.

How Many Euros have England Won

The tournament’s finals are held every four years after a qualifying round. In 2021, the 16th competition was played all around Europe (postponed from 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic).

After passing on the 1960 tournament, the England national football team made their maiden effort at qualifying for the finals in 1964. Starting in 1968, when they first qualified, they have made it to the finals 10 times.

This includes 1996, when they hosted and did not have to qualify. The 2020 European Championship final at Wembley Stadium, which England lost to Italy on penalties, was England’s finest performance at a finals tournament.

They reached the semi-finals once more in 1996, losing to Germany on home soil and in a penalty shootout, just as they had in 1968 when only four teams competed in the finals competition.

On two more times (2004 in Portugal and 2012 in Ukraine), the team lost in the quarterfinals on penalties to the host nation. The 2016 tournament ended for England in the round of 16. Other than in 2000, they were eliminated in the group stage on four other occasions (1980, 1988, 1992, and 2000).

At the 2021 European Championship, England will try to capture the title for the first time. England has had nine total Euro Cup appearances, however they have yet to emerge victorious.

Read Also:

  1. Free VPN
  2. NVIDIA Container
  3. NVIDIA Installer Failed

Prior to Euro 2020, England has Qualified for the Semifinals only Twice (in 1968 and 1996).

While under Steve McClaren, England’s Golden Generation advanced to the quarterfinals in 2004 and 2012, they failed to qualify for the tournament in 2008.

As Gareth Southgate prepares this generation of English players to make their mark in World Cup history, England has improved its performance from 2016, when it reached the round of 16, to 2021.

For many older Football fans, Nothing beats the thrill of Euro 96.

It was held in England during the height of Brit-pop and Cool Britannia, and the weather was perfect every day of the tournament (honest).

England’s performances on the field included several memorable moments, such as Gazza’s goal against Scotland, the rout of the Netherlands, and Psycho’s penalty against Spain.

Fans of the Three Lions hold out hope that Southgate, who led England to the semi finals before losing to Germany and missing a penalty, can lead the team to victory at Euro 2020.

Read Also:

  1. DX11 Feature Level 10.0
  2. NVIDIA Geforce Experience Not Opening
  3. Logitech Gaming Software Not Detecting G27

The event was won by Germany, who defeated the Czech Republic in the final.

Germany, Spain, and France have won the competition three times apiece, while Italy, the Netherlands, the Soviet Union, Czechoslovakia, and Greece have won once each.

In 2008 and 2012, Spain was the only country to win the title back-to-back.